Murray L. Vincent Outstanding Prevention Professional Award

About the Award

The Murray L. Vincent Outstanding Prevention Professional Award is the highest and most distinguished award given by Fact Forward.  In honor of Dr. Murray Vincent, the award recognizes an individual who has significantly impacted the prevention of adolescent pregnancy in South Carolina while exemplifying the characteristics of the award’s namesake. Although we won't have Summer Institute 2020, it’s still important to honor a prevention professional who is a champion in their community. The 2020 Murray L. Vincent Outstanding Prevention Professional Award will be personally presented in 2020. The winner will be recognized at the 2021 Summer Institute alongside the 2021 recipient.  Recipients of the award will receive a $500 stipend to continue their prevention work and a lifetime scholarship to the Summer Institute.

Status message

Sorry...This form is closed to new submissions.

Former Award Winners

2019: Kristen Fouts,  Anderson School District Three


2018: Melanie Dees, Director of the Diamonds Teen Pregnancy Prevention Program


2016: Suzan Alexander, SCDHEC


2015: Darnell McPherson, Darlington County First Steps


2014: Sarah Brown, Former CEO of Power to Decide


Shedron Williams, SC Representative for District 122 (Beaufort, Hampton & Jasper Counties)


2012: Stacey McPhail, PRISMA Health 


2011: Carol Singletary, Fact Forward


2010: Aimee Lassor, Communities in Schools 


2010: Dr. Janice Key, MUSC


2009: Rev. Don Flowers, Fact Forward Emeritus Board Member


2008: Michelle Nimmons, Bamberg School District